# Whiteside School District #115 Board of Education August 16, 2018 7:00 p.m.

### **MINUTES**

The meeting was called to order by President Sean McKee, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. Board Members Present: Matt Erkman, Kia Gunter, Sean McKee, Ty Sterthman Members Absent: Frank Bennett, Rod Euchner, Terri McKee Administrators: Peggy Burke, Jaime Cotto, Kevin Johnson, Monica Laurent, Nathan Rakers. Visitors indicated on sign-in sheet.

## 1.0) Minutes

1.1) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, that the minutes of the regular board meeting held on July 19, 2018 be approved. Ayes-4, Nays-0. Motion carried.

# 2.0) Business Management

- 2.1) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, that the Treasurer's Report be accepted as presented. Ayes-4, Nays-0. Motion carried.
- 2.2) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, that payment of claims be approved.
  Roll call: Erkman-yes, Gunter-yes, Sterthman-yes, S McKee-yes. Motion carried.
- 2.3) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, to approve the FY19 Tort Expenditure Plan.

  Discussion: Salaries included in the Tort Plan are based on actual schedule assignments.

  Roll call: Erkman-yes, Gunter-yes, Sterthman-yes, S McKee-yes. Motion carried.
- 2.4) Review of Tentative Fy19 Budget Proposal

# 3.0) Miscellaneous

- 3.1) Elementry Principal's Report Mr. Rakers updated the Board on the start of school activities and character theme for the new year.
- 3.2) Middle School Principal's Report Mrs. Laurent updated the Board on the start of school activities, clubs and student events planned for the new year.
- 3.3) Superintendent's Report The Board reviewed the written report submitted by Mrs. Burke.
- 3.4) Public Comments The President opened the floor for public comments. None were presented.

### 4.0) Personnel

4.1) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, to employ Kelly Brodzik as a teacher for the 2018-2019 school year. Discussion: Mrs. Brodzik will fill the 1st grade vacancy created by the resignation of Mrs. Wells. Mrs. Brodzik will be at Masters+8, step 4 on the salary schedule. Roll call: Erkman-yes, Gunter-yes, Sterthman-yes, S McKee-yes. Motion carried.

- 4.2) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, to employ Kelly Martin as a teacher for the 2018-2019 school year. Discussion: Mrs. Martin will fill the 6th section of kindergarten. She will be at Masters, step 4 on the salary schedule. Roll call: Erkman-yes, Gunter-yes, Sterthman-yes, S McKee-yes. Motion carried.
- 4.3) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, to employ Jessica Gain, MSW as a social worker for the 2018-2019 school year. Roll call: Erkman-yes, Gunter-yes, Sterthman-yes, S McKee-yes. Motion carried.
- 4.4) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, to accept the resignation of Denise Gurlen as an instructional aide effective immediately. Ayes-4, Nays-0. Motion carried.
- 4.5) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, to employ the following as paraprofessionals for the 2018-2019 school year: Reem Deriyah, Jennifer Gratteau, Tabitha Harris, Nate Leingang, Johnathan Marchbanks, Arthur Martin, Amy Miller, Yvonne Morrison, Cindy Stauder, Cassidy Van Ness, and Corey Weber.
  Roll call: Erkman-yes, Gunter-yes, Sterthman-yes, S McKee-yes. Motion carried.
- 4.6) Motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, to employ Charlotte Munoz and Christina Hoffmann as cafeteria workers for the 2018-2019 school year. Roll call: Erkman-yes, Gunter-yes, Sterthman-yes, S McKee-yes. Motion carried.

Karma Falkenbury, Secretary

meeting. Ayes-4, Nays-0. Motion carried.
Meeting adjourned at 7:30 pm.

Sean McKee, President

5.0) Having no further business, motion by Erkman, second by Sterthman, to adjourn the